Football News

Conmebol 2022 World Cup qualifiers: Which South American national teams made Qatar?

By Andrew Francis

Conmebol 2022 World Cup qualifiers: Which South American national teams made Qatar?

Published: 14:15, 9 September 2022 | Updated: 16:10, 23 November 2022

The 2022 World Cup is less than 100 days away and there are four nations looking to bring glory to South America.

After Uefa, Conmebol is the only other confederation to have a World Cup winner, and Brazil still lead the way with five – also the last South American team to win the competition, back in 2002.

Check out club and national team kits at World Soccer Shop


What’s happened so far?

There is only one qualifying stage within Conmebol which pits all 10 nations against one another in a traditional league format. All nations play each other twice, with the sides finishing in the top four qualifying automatically for the World Cup finals.

How did the table finish?

The standings following matchday 18 are as follows:

Position Team Played Points
1 Brazil 17 45
2 Argentina 17 39
3 Uruguay 18 28
4 Ecuador 18 26
5 Peru 18 24
6 Colombia 18 23
7 Chile 18 19
8 Paraguay 18 16
9 Bolivia 18 15
10 Venezuela 18 10

BetStorm welcome offer: How to get a £10 bet

Qualifying readers* can follow THIS LINK or click the image below to earn a £10 free bet using BetStorm’s sign-up offer.

*18+ only. New customers only. Minimum £10 qualifying bets, stake not returned. Free bet – one-time stake of £10, minimum odds 1.5 stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Maximum conversion: £200. Valid for 7 days from issue. Withdrawal requests voids all active/ pending bonuses. Eligibility restrictions apply. Further T&Cs apply.

Who qualified for the World Cup from Conmebol?

Brazil and Argentina have had their qualification assured for some time, whilst Ecuador and Uruguay secured their passage to the World Cup on matchday 17.

Matchday 18 saw Peru pick up the win they needed with a 2-0 victory over Paraguay, securing their route to the inter-confederation playoff. However, they lost to Australia on penalties.

Colombia missed out on the playoff spot by one point, despite beating Venezuela 1-0 on matchday 18, meaning this will be the first World Cup since 2010 without Los Cafeteros.

There is one game from matchday six still to be played, after Brazil’s meeting with Argentina was abandoned after just five minutes. There hasn’t been a date set for that tie as things stand, but the result will have no bearing on qualification given both nations are already assured of a place in Qatar.

Who do the Conmebol teams face at the World Cup?

A South American team will kick off the World Cup later this year, with Ecuador taking on hosts Qatar in the opening game. There are also interesting groups for Uruguay, Brazil and Argentina.

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea