Football News

Caf 2022 World Cup qualifiers: Which African national teams made Qatar?

By Andrew Francis

Published: 14:30, 9 September 2022

The World Cup is less than 100 days away and the Confederation of African Football (CAF) will have five representatives.

Despite having 54 countries entering qualifying, CAF gets whittled down to just five, often meaning some big names miss out.

Check out club and national team kits at World Soccer Shop


CAF World Cup qualifying results

Qualification from CAF started all the way back in September 2019 with 28 nations entering the first round. The first round saw 14 two-legged ties, with the winners of each advancing to the second round, where they were joined by the 26 highest ranking nations from Africa.

The second round saw 10 groups of four compete, with the winner of each group advancing to the third round.

In the third round, the remaining sides played each other in two-legged knock-out ties.

The third-round games consist of five two-legged ties, with the five winners qualifying for the World Cup finals.

The results of the ties in the third round are as follows:

Match First leg Second leg
Egypt vs Senegal* 1-0 0-1
Cameroon* vs Algeria 0-1 2-1
Ghana* vs Nigeria 0-0 1-1
DR Congo vs Morocco* 1-1 1-4
Mali vs Tunisia* 0-1 0-0

BetStorm welcome offer: How to get a £10 bet

Qualifying readers* can follow THIS LINK or click the image below to earn a £10 free bet using BetStorm’s sign-up offer.

*18+ only. New customers only. Minimum £10 qualifying bets, stake not returned. Free bet – one-time stake of £10, minimum odds 1.5 stake not returned. 1X wager the winnings. Wager from real balance first. Wager calculated on bonus bets only. Maximum conversion: £200. Valid for 7 days from issue. Withdrawal requests voids all active/ pending bonuses. Eligibility restrictions apply. Further T&Cs apply.

Who do the African teams face at the World Cup?

There are five groups with African representation in at the World Cup this year, including a tasty Group H for Ghana.

  • Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal, Netherlands
  • Group D: France, Australia, Denmark, Tunisia
  • Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia
  • Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea