Football News

Serie A 2019/20 top scorers: Immobile equals all-time Capocannoniere record

By Squawka News

Serie A top scorers: 2019/20 season standings for Capocannoniere race

Published: 14:00, 2 August 2020

As the 2019/20 Serie A season comes to a close this weekend, the Capocannoniere contest has been decided.

Ciro Immobile and Cristiano Ronaldo have battled it out to be Italy‘s top-scorer, particularly owing to the latter’s good form post-break. But going into the final weekend of action, it was Immobile who leads the way on 35, having scored six goals in his past four games including a hat-trick over Hellas Verona in gameweek 36. It was already one better than Bayern Munich centre-forward Robert Lewandowski’s total and also the highest total across Europe’s top five leagues, Serie A being the only competition among them yet to conclude.

And then Immobile score Lazio’s consolation goal in a 3-1 defeat to Napoli. In doing so he equals the record for a single Serie A season, finishing the campaign on 36 goals. It was set by Gonzalo Higuain four years ago with Napoli, who Lazio play in their final game of the season this Saturday.

Second-placed Cristiano Ronaldo ends the season on 31 goals. The Juventus forward had scored three times in four games, including a brace against Lazio that briefly saw him take the lead, but was rested by Maurizio Sarri vs Roma with August’s Champions League restart in mind.

The duo have been in a different league to the rest of Serie A’s goalscorers, with eight goals separating Ronaldo and Romelu Lukaku in third. The Belgian scored 23 in his debut Serie A campaign.

Things get a lot closer after Lukaku, with Sassuolo’s Francesco Caputo scoring 21 goals to complete the quartet of players to have reached at least 20 for the season.

But who makes up the rest of the top 10? Read on for the standings…

Serie A top goalscorers: 2019/20 season current standings

Players with the same amount of goals are ranked by fewer minutes played.

Position Player Goals Minutes Played
1st Ciro Immobile 36 goals 3175 minutes
2nd Cristiano Ronaldo 31 goals 2919 minutes
3rd Romelu Lukaku 23 goals 2983 minutes
4th Francesco Caputo 21 goals 2846 minutes
5th Luis Muriel 18 goals 1245 minutes
6th Duván Zapata 18 goals 2036 minutes
7th João Pedro 18 goals 3155 minutes
8th Edin Dzeko 16 goals 2854 minutes
9th Andrea Belotti 16 goals 2919 minutes
10th Josip Ilicic 15 goals 1672 minutes

(Correct as of 14:00 02/08/2020)