Football Quizzes

Can you name every Fifa Puskás Award winner?

By Squawka News

Puskas Award Winners

Published: 11:11, 25 November 2020

Every year since 2009, the Fifa Puskás Award has been handed out to the player adjudged to have scored the most beautiful or aesthetically pleasing goal of the calendar year.

The tradition has thrown up some great battles and even controversies over the years, with not everyone in agreement as to who has been most deserving of the accolade.

One of the most keenly watched battles in the history of the award, named after the Hungarian goalscoring legend Ferenc Puskás, has been between who else but Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

These two greats have received a combined total of nine nominations (Messi seven times, Cristiano twice) with the Portuguese winning the first ever edition of the competition. Although the Barcelona star has incredibly never actually won the award.

The Argentinian was only deemed good enough for second in 2019 for his chip against Real Betis and his wait for Puskás recognition will have to last into 2021 because he’s not even nominated for the 2020 edition (neither has Cristiano).

But that’s the beauty of the Puskas award: the household names often don’t win the thing. The competition has sprung some shocks amd surprises and we’re betting that a few of the recipients have slipped your memory.

So, it’s time to test yourself to see how many of the previous winners you can name….