Football Quizzes

How many FWA Footballer of the Year winners can you name from the Premier League era?

By Mohamed Moallim

Published: 17:10, 24 July 2020

For over 70 years members of the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) have named their Footballer of the Year.

Stanley Matthews was the inaugural winner in 1947/48 and since then his predecessors are a who’s who of English football including fellow Ballon d’Or recipients Bobby Charlton, George Best and Kevin Keegan.

The question is, can you name every player to win the prestigious award since the Premier League’s inception? Take our quiz to find out and remember, Google is not your friend here – no cheating allowed! Feel free to let us know how you got on in the comments section below or on Twitter.


Sign up to the Best Football Offers

A valid email is required.

Invalid e-mail.

Yes I am over 18.
Yes, I would like to receive email updates on exciting offers from For more info on how we and our partners process your data, see Privacy and Cookie Policies.
You need to confirm that you are over 18 and that you want to receive updates.

*By subscribing you are confirming that you are over 18 years of age.

*All emails include an unsubscribe link, where you can opt out any time. *Please see our privacy and cookies policy..


Newsletter error