Outright Odds

2022 Club World Cup outright odds: Can Real Madrid continue European streak?

By Harry Edwards

2022 Club World Cup outright odds: Can Real Madrid continue European streak?

Published: 14:45, 9 February 2023

It’s been a fast-paced tournament but the final of the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup is almost upon us.

No, you haven’t stepped in a time machine; although it is 2023, the FIFA Club World Cup has kept its original year in the name, having been originally scheduled for December 2022 only to be moved because of the actual World Cup in Qatar.

The latest 2022 Club World Cup outright winner odds

Who are the 2022 Club World Cup favourites?

As is often the case, Real Madrid went into the tournament as favourites. Los Blancos are four-time winners of the Club World Cup, the most successful side in the tournament’s history, and have only failed to take the trophy once (in 2000) when participating.

As UEFA Champions League winners, Real Madrid also got the advantage of entering at the semi-final stage, meaning they started just two wins away from the crown. The same advantage was given to the Copa Libertadores winners, Flamengo, which will go some way to explaining why only South American and European teams have won the Club World Cup.

UEFA currently dominate in terms of overall wins, with 14 to CONMEBOL’s four, and European sides have won the last nine Club World Cups. Chelsea are the defending champions but lost the privilege of fighting for their crown having lost to Real Madrid in the quarter-finals of the 2021/22 Champions League.

Chelsea were also finalists the last time a European side failed to win the Club World Cup, when they were beaten 1-0 by Brazilian side Corinthians in 2012.

Where is the 2022 Club World Cup being held?

There was a lot of delay and confusion as to whether the 2022 Club World Cup would be held, and which country would host it. Firstly, there are plans for the Club World Cup to be expanded to a 32-team tournament, but that change has been pushed back to 2025.

Japan, China, United States, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates were all touted as potential hosts at some stage in the build up but on 16 December 2022 — yes, that late — Morocco were confirmed as hosts, with matches played in Tangier and Rabat.

Who is involved in the 2022 Club World Cup?

As normal, we’ve got the UEFA Champions League winners (Real Madrid) and the Copa Libertadores holders (Flamengo) involved, but below that things got a tad more complicated.

The 2022 AFC Champions League is not yet completed, and won’t be until May 2023, meaning Al Hilal were elected to take the Asian confederation’s spot as the 2021 AFC Champions League winners.

Wydad Casablanca were the 2021/22 the African Champions League winners and therefore the CAF representatives, given perhaps a slight advantage playing in their home country. The host nation usually get a slot anyway for a domestic team and it usually goes to the national champions. But Wydad Casablanca won the Moroccan league title too, so Egyptian side and Club World Cup regulars Al Ahly were granted the extra slot as CAF Champions League runners-up.

Seattle Sounders are the 2022 CONCACAF Champions League winners, and the first MLS side to take part in the Club World Cup, while Auckland City represent Oceania as the OFC Champions League winners for a record-extending 10th time.

2022 Club World Cup fixtures and results

First round

  • 1 February 2023 – Al Ahly 3-0 Auckland City

Second round

  • 4 February 2023 – Wydad Casablanca 1-1 Al Hilal (Al Hilal won 5-3 on penalties)
  • 4 February 2023 – Seattle Sounders 0-1 Al Ahly


  • 7 February 2023 – Flamengo 1-3 Al Hilal
  • 8 February 2023 – Al Ahly 1-4 Real Madrid

Third-place play-off

  • 11 February 2023 – Flamengo v Al Ahly (3:30pm UK time)


  • 11 February 2023 – Al Hilal v Real Madrid (7pm UK time)

Predicted 2022 Club World Cup bracket

Round Fixture (Predicted) Winner
First Round Al Ahly v Auckland City Al Ahly
Second Round Wydad Casablanca v Al Hilal
Seattle Sounders v Al Ahly
Al Hilal
Al Ahly
Semi-Finals Flamengo v Al Hilal
Al Ahly v Real Madrid
Al Hilal
Real Madrid
Third-Place Play-Off Flamengo v Al Ahly Flamengo
Final Al Hilal v Real Madrid Real Madrid

Previous Club World Cup winners

Year Team
2021 Chelsea (UEFA)
2020 Bayern Munich (UEFA)
2019 Liverpool (UEFA)
2018 Real Madrid (UEFA)
2017 Real Madrid (UEFA)
2016 Real Madrid (UEFA)
2015 Barcelona (UEFA)
2014 Real Madrid (UEFA)
2013 Bayern Munich (UEFA)
2012 Corinthians (CONMEBOL)
2011 Barcelona (UEFA)
2010 Inter Milan (UEFA)
2009 Barcelona (UEFA)
2008 Manchester United (UEFA)
2007 AC Milan (UEFA)
2006 Internacional (CONMEBOL)
2005 Sao Paulo (CONMEBOL)
2000 Corinthians (CONMEBOL)