Other Sport

Australia vs Netherlands Predictions: Cricket World Cup betting tips, news, lineups

By Andy Watson

Published: 10:55, 24 October 2023

Australia will be attempting to solidify their challenge for a qualification space for the knockout rounds of the Cricket World Cup as they take on the Netherlands 

After losing their first two matches pretty convincingly, the Australians have roared back into contention for the semi-finals. A win here will solidify their grip on fourth place.

However, the Netherlands will be well up for causing another shock to a fancied nation after doing the same thing to South Africa a couple of matches ago.

Australia vs Netherlands Betting Tips

Australia qualification back on track

There must have been some doubts in some Australian minds as to whether qualification for the semi-finals was still on after their torrid start to the group stage. However, there were always some more favourable fixtures to bring the Aussies back into the picture, and, thankfully for them, a lot of their main rivals have fallen to shock results as well.

The batting power that the opening partnership showed in their last match, with both David Warner and Mitch Marsh getting big centuries just showed what Australia do still have in their ranks. Yes, they aren’t the youngest side in the tournament, but the know-how is definitely there.

There is a really strong trend for the POTM to be a batter. There have been very few instances of a bowler picking up the award, and if Australia are to win then an opener or top-order batsman is likely to make a score and it is worth the extra couple of points on the price for Marsh or Smith to be the one to lead the team to success.


Australia vs Netherlands team news

Both sides have named their 15 man squads for the Cricket World Cup. Here are the details of the players who will line up on Saturday:

Australia:Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Netherlands:Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Sybrand Engelbrecht.