Football News

When are The Best FIFA Awards 2021? Date, start time and host city

By Ben Green

When are The Best Fifa Awards 2021? Date, start time and host city

Published: 17:42, 11 November 2021

As the festive calendar nears, football’s annual award season is also just around the corner, and anticipation is already building for the latest installation of The Best FIFA Awards.

The yearly ceremony pays tribute to the sport’s finest individuals from the previous 12 months, commemorating title winners, record breakers and the most aesthetically significant goals, the latter recognition of course referring to the Puskas Award.

The Best Men’s Player and Best Women’s Player are two of the most coveted and celebrated accolades at the event, and they will once again be honoured to see who succeeds 2020 winners Robert Lewandowski and Lucy Bronze (if they are, in fact, dethroned).

So, when is the ceremony taking place, who are the nominees and what other awards are being dished out this year? Squawka answers all of your questions below.

When will The Best FIFA Awards 2021 take place and where is the ceremony held?

Despite the ceremony typically taking place in the autumn months, 2021’s version will be held on Monday January 17, 2022

Last year’s event came exactly a week before Christmas Eve on December 17, 2020 and was virtually held due to public health restrictions.

Due to those ongoing health measures, 2021’s iteration will once again be a virtual event held from the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland.

Bet £10 and get £30 in free bets T&Cs apply

18+ only. New customers using Promo code H30 only, Min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15, free bets credited after settlement of first qualifying bet, free bets will expire 30 days after the qualifying bet is placed, payment method/player/country restrictions apply. Full terms apply. BeGambleAware.

18+ only. New customers using Promo code H30 only. T&Cs apply.

Claim Here
Get up to £100 in bet credits T&Cs apply

18+ only. New customers only. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. BeGambleAware.

18+ only. T&Cs apply.

Claim Here
£20 in Free Bets when you place a £5 bet T&Cs apply

18+ only. New customers only. First single & e/w bet only. Odds of 1/1 or greater. 2 x £10 bet tokens. Free bet stakes not included in returns. Free bets exclude virtuals. Free bets are non withdrawable. No free bet expiry. Eligibility restrictions and further T&Cs apply.

18+ only. New customers only. T&Cs apply.

Claim Here

Have the nominees been announced?

No, is the short answer. The voting process to determine 2021’s nominees will start on November 22 and end on December 10 this year.

The award will take into account not only achievements in club football, including the Champions League, but also at international level, including the Olympic Football Tournaments in Tokyo, with Brazil taking gold in the Men’s competition, and Canada in the Women’s.

The likes of the current Best Men’s Player Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi and Jorginho are all likely to be in the mix for this year’s award, while N’Golo Kante, Pedri, Karim Benzema and Romelu Lukaku are all in with a shot as well.

On the Women’s side, Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas will lead the race for the Best award, fighting against the likes of Fran Kirby, Sam Kerr, Jenni Hermoso, Vivianne Miedema and Caroline Graham Hansen.

Where can I watch The Best Fifa Awards 2021?

With the event being held as a virtual TV show at the home of FIFA, football’s governing body will stream The Best Awards across its social media channels. Those include the official website, FIFA’s YouTube channel, FIFATV, as well as Facebook and Twitter.

Previous winners of The Best Men’s Player and Best Women’s Player

Formerly known as the FIFA World Player of the Year after its inception in 1991, the award was rebranded to The Best FIFA Player in 2016 and has hence been claimed five times since its rejig in the middle of last decade. Below are the previous winners of each award.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Year Player Club
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2018 Luka Modric Real Madrid
2019 Lionel Messi Barcelona
2020 Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Year Player Club
2016 Carli Lloyd Houston Dash
2017 Lieke Martens Rosengard/Barcelona
2018 Marta Orlando Pride
2019 Megan Rapinoe Reign FC
2020 Lucy Bronze Lyon/Manchester City

The award list in full

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  • FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11
  • FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11
  • FIFA Fair Play Award
  • FIFA Puskás Award (awarded for the best goal of the year)
  • FIFA Fan Award

Sign up to the Best Football Offers

A valid email is required.

Invalid e-mail.

Yes I am over 18.
Yes, I would like to receive email updates on exciting offers from For more info on how we and our partners process your data, see Privacy and Cookie Policies.
You need to confirm that you are over 18 and that you want to receive updates.

*By subscribing you are confirming that you are over 18 years of age.

*All emails include an unsubscribe link, where you can opt out any time. *Please see our privacy and cookies policy..


Newsletter error