Outright Odds

Teams eliminated from the World Cup 2022: How many countries are out and who has qualified for the semi-finals?

By Andrew Francis

Published: 11:00, 19 December 2022

The 2022 World Cup Final is in the history books with Argentina being crowned champions following their win over France. 

Which sides have been eliminated from the World Cup?


Nation Eliminated
Ecuador 3rd in Group A
Qatar 4th in Group A
Iran 3rd in Group B
Wales 4th in Group B
Mexico 3rd in Group C
Saudi Arabia 4th in Group C
Tunisia 3rd in Group D
Denmark 4th in Group D
Belgium 3rd in Group F
Canada 4th in Group F
Germany 3rd in Group E
Costa Rica 4th in Group E
Cameroon 3rd in Group G
Serbia 4th in Group G
Uruguay 3rd in Group H
Ghana 4th in Group H
USA Lost in last 16
Australia Lost in last 16
Poland Lost in last 16
Senegal Lost in last 16
Japan Lost in last 16
South Korea Lost in last 16
Spain Lost in last 16
Switzerland Lost in last 16
Brazil Lost in QFs
Netherlands Lost in QFs
Portugal Lost in QFs
England Lost in QFs
Morocco Lost in SFs
Croatia Lost in SFs
France Lost in SFs

Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets with Bet365

Not signed up to bet365 yet? Here's how to claim one of the best bookmaker welcome offers around... 

  • Open an account (here's a link)
  • Make a qualifying deposit of between £5* and £10*
  • Claim the offer to receive three times your deposit in 'Free Bets'.
  • To release your 'Free Bets', place qualifying bets to the value of your qualifying deposit and allow those bets to settle.
  • Your 'Free Bets' will become available shortly after your qualifying bets have settled
  • To use your 'Free Bets', select 'Use bet credits' in the bet slip.

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.

Which side won the World Cup?

Argentina were the side who ended up lifting the famous trophy, triumphing in a chaotic and fast paced final against France. 

The first 75 minutes of the game saw Argentina sit comfortably in front, holding a 2-0 lead and looking like securing the trophy within 90 minutes. Kylian Mbappe had different ideas though, scoring twice within two minutes to drag France back into the game and force extra time.

The final 30 minutes proved to a frantic affair with both teams having multiple chances to win the game. Again, it looked as though Argentina had done enough to secure the win when Lionel Messi struck just inside the second period of extra time but, as seemed to be the theme of this final, Mbappe once again struck to keep his nation’s dreams alive.

The penalty shootout was filled with drama but Emi Martinez proved to be the Argentinian hero, saving Kingsley Coman’s spot kick and seeing Aurelien Tchouameni’s effort wide of the post. Gonzalo Montiel was the man who wrote his name in the history books, scoring the winning penalty and sending the Argentina fans into raptures.