Football News

Uefa Fans’ Team of the Year: Liverpool lead the way with 10 nominations

By Ben Green

Published: 16:02, 26 November 2019

Uefa have announced the 50-man shortlist for the 2019 Fans’ Team of the Year, with Liverpool leading the way cpurtesy of 10 individual player nominations.

The candidates this year span across 14 separate clubs, from the Champions League and Europa League respectively, as well as 21 different national teams.

Who made the shortlist from the Premier League? Five things to know…

  • In total, 25 of the 50 nominees are from the Premier League (including Eden Hazard, formally of Chelsea).
  • Liverpool boast the most candidates to make the final cut, with 10 selections.
  • Andy Robertson is the first Scottish player to be nominated in the team’s 19-year history.
  • Five Liverpool players have previously been selected in the final XI: Steven Gerrard, Sami Hyypia, Virgil van Dijk, Fernando Torres and Luis Garcia.
  • Manchester City have seven players shortlisted for this year’s team.

The selection is based upon players’ domestic and international performances, as well as those in European competition, including the Super Cup.

Liverpool lead the way for most selections, with 10 of Jurgen Klopp’s men making the grade thanks to their 2018/19 Champions League winning exploits.

Ajax come in at a close second, with the Amsterdammers receiving eight nominees for their domestic dominance last season and semi-final run in Europe’s flagship tournament.

Elsewhere, Pep Guardiola’s side have seven footballer’s shortlisted courtesy of their treble-winning heroics on home soil, while Chelsea (including Eden Hazard) have four after the Blues clinched the Europa League.

Finally, Champions League runners-up Tottenham Hotspur have three players on the list, while north London rivals – and Europa League finalists – Arsenal boast just the single player.

UEFA TOTY Forwards UEFA TOTY Midfielders UEFA TOTY Goalkeepers UEFA TOTY Defenders

For those who started in the final for Liverpool at the Wanda Metropolitano in June, only Joel Matip failed to make Uefa’s shortlist, while Andy Robertson becomes the first Scottish player to be nominated in the team’s history.

Uefa Player of the Year, and former fixture in the Team of the Year, Virgil Van Dijk, is unsurprisingly among the half-century of contenders, while captain Jordan Henderson also features.

Man City, meanwhile, see the likes of Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva, Bernardo Silva, Ederson and Aymeric Laporte in the running to make the final XI.

Aguero has previously made the shortlist on seven occasions, as has Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski, but neither forward is yet to make the concluding XI.

Subscribe to Squawka’s Youtube channel here.

Chelsea are represented by N’Golo Kante, Jorginho, Cesar Azpilicueta and the aforementioned Hazard, while Harry Kane, Son Heung-min and Jan Vertonghen are flying the flag for Spurs.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is the standard-bearer for Arsenal on the shortlist after he helped guide the club to the Europa League final and clinched the Premier League Golden Boot.

In terms of nationality, England have four players among this elite band (Kane, Henderson, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Sterling) with Ashley Cole the last Three Lion to make the final XI in 2010 – Spain lead the way with seven players.