Football News

Most take-ons completed: Premier League 2021/22 season

By Harry Edwards

Most take-ons completed: Premier League 2021/22 season

Published: 10:55, 13 September 2021

The Premier League is brimming with players who love nothing more than taking on their opposite man, and are pretty handy at winning their one-on-one duels.

Winning said duels can often be the difference between three points and zero. As a result, players capable of operating in tight areas and beating a challenge do not come cheap, which may explain Jack Grealish’s nine-figure price tag.

But the Englishman’s 65 completed take-ons in 2020/21 was just enough to secure him a spot in the top 10 of Premier League dribblers last season, as his campaign was cut short due to injury problems. Instead, but still unsurprising, the Premier League dribbling crown went to Adama Traore who was the only player to complete at least 100 last season (153 in total).

The Spaniard was a massive 57 clear of second and third place, with Allan Saint-Maximin and Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa both completing 96 across the campaign, with the latter recording his number in just 1,568 minutes for a relegated side.

Traore is once again at the top of the table after four games in the 2021/22 season having already completed 38 take-ons, averaging just under 10 per 90 minutes. He is, once again, a hefty 18 clear of second-placed Allan Saint-Maximin who is the only other player to hit the 20-mark so far, with five more reaching double figures including Wolves’ Trincao who completes the top three.

Can anyone get close to Traore over the next eight months? Keep track of the top 10 dribblers below as the 2021/22 campaign progresses.

Most take-ons completed Premier League 2021/22 season: Current standings

Players with the same amount of take-ons are separated by minutes played. Stats correct as of 10:45, 13/09/21.

Position Player Take-ons Minutes Played
1st Adama Traoré 38 completed 348
2nd Allan Saint-Maximin 20 completed 360
3rd Trincão 13 completed 303
4th Ismaila Sarr 11 completed 360
5th Dwight McNeil 10 completed 259
6th Lucas Moura 10 completed 269
7th Declan Rice 10 completed 360
8th Emmanuel Dennis 9 completed 336
9th Jarrod Bowen 9 completed 341
10th Wilfried Zaha 9 completed 360