Football News

Paul Pogba named in PFA Team of the Year dominated by Liverpool and Man City

By Steve Jennings

Published: 10:18, 25 April 2019

Paul Pogba is the surprise inclusion in the 2018/19 PFA Premier League Team of the Year, which was announced on Thursday.

The Manchester United midfielder is the only star in the team who doesn’t play for Manchester City or Liverpool.

David De Gea is not included for the first time since the 2013/14, losing his place to Manchester City’s Ederson.

The back four is made up of Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Aymeric Laporte and Andy Robertson.

Pogba is part of a midfield three, joined by Fernandinho and Bernardo Silva.

And the three forwards in the team are Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero and Sadio Mane.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard is the only PFA Player of the Year nominee to miss out on a place in the Team of the Year.

This is the first time only three clubs have been represented in the team since the award began in 1973-74. It is also the first time London clubs haven’t been represented since 1987-88.

With 13 goals and nine assists, Pogba is having his best ever season in terms of goal involvement.

But many onlookers have been surprised by the Frenchman’s inclusion in the team.

Hazard is also having a stellar campaign for Chelsea, providing more Premier League assists (13) than any other player.

As such, his omission perplexed some fans.