Football News

Sam Kerr named 2021/22’s PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year

By Ben Green

Sam Kerr named 2021:22's PFA Women's Players' Player of the Year

Published: 19:38, 9 June 2022

Chelsea forward Sam Kerr has been named 2021/22’s PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year after a stellar campaign at Kingsmeadow.

The 28-year-old Australia international top scored in the Women’s Super League with 20 goals in 20 games as Emma Hayes’ side won a third consecutive title. Kerr was also joined on the initial shortlist by teammate Pernille Harder, but there was no place for last year’s winner Fran Kirby.

The duo were sensational as the Blues won the Women’s FA Cup, beating Manchester City 3-2 after extra-time at Wembley last month, with Kerr netting a brace and ultimately, the tournament-winning goal in the 99th minute under the arch.

Chelsea also reached the Women’s League Cup final, but lost out to City 3-1 in Wimbledon, with Kerr once against getting on the scoresheet. Despite that defeat, a WSL and FA Cup double is certainly not to be sniffed at, capping a remarkable campaign for Hayes’ side.

Not only did Kerr finish as the WSL’s top scorer in 2021/22, but she was also one of only two players to score a hat-trick, alongside Khadija Shaw of Manchester City. On top of that, the Australian finished April with the final Player of the Month award as Chelsea secured the title.

Kerr will have to make room on her mantlepiece for this award having already claimed the Football Writers’ Association’s Women’s Footballer of the Year accolade, underlining the enormity of a truly remarkable campaign in the capital.

Live Score Offer: Bet £10, get £20 in free bets

  1. Sign up at Live Score using this link
  2. Place a £10 bet on sportsbook, min odds 1.5 bet
  3. Claim your £20 bonus 

*New members. £10 min deposit & bet on sportsbook, placed & settled at 1.5 min odds within 14 days of sign-up. Win part of the E/W bets. 2 non-withdrawable £10 Free Bet Tokens: accept in 7 days, valid for 7 days from acceptance (ex E/Ws & Multiples), stakes not returned. Click here for full T&Cs. Bet Responsibly. 18+

Among those also on the original six-player shortlist were Arsenal duo Vivianne Miedema and Kim Little. Miedema, the 2018/19 recipient of the award, finished the season second only the Kerr in the WSL scoring charts, bagging 14, while no other player registered more than her eight assists.

Skipper Kim Little was also highly influential as Jonas Eidevall’s side pushed Chelsea all the way in the WSL title race and reached the quarter-finals of the Champions League and League Cup, not to mention the FA Cup semi-finals.