Football News

Mohamed Salah named 2021/22’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

By Ben Green

Published: 19:44, 9 June 2022

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has been named 2021/22’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year ahead of Kevin De Bruyne.

The Egyptian superstar has joined an exclusive club of players to scoop the award twice, including Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and De Bruyne, fending off stern competition from the latter.

This campaign, Salah claimed his third Premier League Golden Boot after netting 23 goals, finishing level with Son Heung-Min, while he also registered a division-high 13 assists to also scoop the Playmaker of the Season award, as Liverpool pushed Manchester City to the final day in the title race.

William Hill betting offer: How to get £30 in free bets

Not signed up to William Hill? Qualifying readers* can earn up to £30 in free bets by following the steps below.

  • Sign up using THIS LINK (or click the image below) using the promo code H30.
  • Place a £10 bet at odds of 1/2 or higher.
  • Your free bets will be credited as 2x £15. Please see full Ts&Cs.

William Hill £30 free bets special offer

*18+ only. New customers using Promo code H30 only. Min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2x £15/€15, free bets credited after settlement of first qualifying bet, free bets will expire 30 days after qualifying bet is placed, payment method/player/country restrictions apply. Please gamble responsibly. For more information, visit

The Egyptian, though, wasn’t done there with the individual accolades as his strike against City in October’s 2-2 draw at Anfield also won him the Premier League Goal of the Season, which also sits on his mantlepiece alongside the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year.

De Bruyne may feel aggrieved that he missed out on a record-breaking third PFA Players’ Player of the Year after helping guide Pep Guardiola’s side to another Premier League title, top scoring for City (15), while also registering eight assists in 2021/22.

The Belgian is one of just three players in the history of the award to seal it in consecutive seasons, alongside Henry between 2003 and 2004, and Ronaldo between 2007 and 2008. His reign has now come to an end, with Salah claiming his second after 2017/18.

How to Bet £10, Get £20 with LiveScore:

  1. Join LiveScore Bet (here's the link)
  2. Deposit and place a £10 bet
  3. Get two free bets*

*New members. £10 min deposit & bet on sportsbook, placed & settled at 1.5 min odds within 14 days of sign-up. Win part of E/W bets. 2 non-withdrawable £10 Free Bet Tokens: accept in 7 days, valid for 7 days from crediting (ex. E/Ws & Multiples), stakes not returned. Click here for Rules & Exclusions. 18+ only. Bet Responsibly.

Premier League Manager of the Season Jurgen Klopp oversaw another tremendous season for the Reds as they claimed an FA Cup and League Cup double, and reached the Champions League final, with Salah recognised for his efforts under the German coach.

Among the other nominees for the award beyond De Bruyne and Salah were Sadio Mane, Virgil van Dijk, Harry Kane and Ronaldo, but it will be Salah claiming the recognition tonight as he caps off another remarkable season on Merseyside.



Sign up to the Best Football Offers

A valid email is required.

Invalid e-mail.

Yes I am over 18.
Yes, I would like to receive email updates on exciting offers from For more info on how we and our partners process your data, see Privacy and Cookie Policies.
You need to confirm that you are over 18 and that you want to receive updates.

*By subscribing you are confirming that you are over 18 years of age.

*All emails include an unsubscribe link, where you can opt out any time. *Please see our privacy and cookies policy..


Newsletter error