Outright Odds

PFA Player of the Year: Haaland favourite for a second successive gong

By Dean Smith

Published: 17:17, 3 October 2022 | Updated: 17:48, 20 September 2023

The irrepressible Erling Haaland was the PFA Player of the Year for 2022/2023 – and he’s the early favourite to earn that honour again this season.

In 2021/2022, Liverpool superstar Mohamed Salah joined a highly-decorated club of players to scoop the accolade on two occasions, including Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gareth Bale and Kevin De Bruyne – but now Erling Haaland has set his sights on the same achievement.

On this page
PFA Player of the Year latest odds

It’s not difficult to see why Haaland was able to lift the gong last season. 36 of his 52 goals for the Citizens last term came in the Premier League as Pep Guardiola’s men won an incredible treble of trophies in the Norwegian striker’s first season on English soil.

City are the favourites for the title once again this term and at this early stage, Haaland is again averaging more than a goal a game, finding the net no fewer than seven times in his first five outings of the season.

With City expecting to dominate the title race again, it’s unsurprising to see Haaland’s team-mates Rodri, Phil Foden and Kevin de Bruyne – although the Belgian midfielder looks set to miss a lengthy period of the campaign with a hamstring injury.

Arsenal were City’s closest challengers last season and they have a handful of players considered to be in the running too, including Bukayo Saka, Martin Odegaard and new signing Declan Rice, who will be hoping to add a little quality to the Gunners’ midfield as they look to chase down City.

The aforementioned Mohamed Salah is potentially playing his final season in the Premier League amid strong interest from Saudi Arabia and is also in the mix, while Tottenham’s James Maddison won the campaign’s first Player of the Month award after a blistering start to life in North London.

We’re still in the early stages of the 2023/2024 season, but who are the front runners for this season’s highly-coveted accolade?

PFA Player of the Year 2023/2024 latest odds

PFA Player of the Year 22/23 Sky Bet
Erling Haaland
Mohamed Salah
Bukayo Saka
Declan Rice
Martin Odegaard
Phil Foden
Dominik Szoboszlai
James Maddson
You have to be 18+ to gamble. UK only. All odds within this article are accurate at the time of writing (17:00, 03/10/2022). Be Gamble Aware.


Premier League predictions & tips
Football Accumulator tips
Latest live streaming fixtures