Other Sport

Pakistan vs Netherlands Predictions: Cricket World Cup betting tips, news, lineups

By Jonathan Davies

Published: 11:58, 4 October 2023

Pakistan launch their 2023 Cricket World Cup when they play the Netherlands in Hyderabad on Friday (9.30am BST).

The Men in Green are hoping for a better showing at the tournament this time around, having fallen at the group stage four years ago.

Meanwhile, the Dutch are back at the World Cup having failed to qualify for the last two editions, and will be aiming to progress beyond the group stage for the first time.

Pakistan vs Netherlands Betting Tips

Azam to lead the way for Pakistan

Babar Azam heads to India as Pakistan’s man in form. Indeed, he has been the best batter over the past year for the Green Shirts.

Azam has notched up an impressive 745 runs from 15 innings at an average of 49, and he will want to build on that momentum here.

In the first match of the tournament with Pakistan eager to make an early statement, you would certainly fancy him to do so.

Tip: Babar Azam – Top batsman @ 5/1 with Sky Bet

De Leede to provide Dutch courage

It is fair to say the Netherlands are the heavy underdogs on their World Cup return against former winners of the tournament.

The Dutch will need to produce an inspired performance if they are to claim an early scalp in India.

That inspiration could come courtesy of bowler Bas de Leede.

He has been their leading wicket-taker over the past year, with 15 wickets from seven innings and maintaining a bowling average of 22.

Tip: Bas de Leede – Top away bowler @ 7/2 with Paddy Power

Pakistan vs Netherlands team news

Both sides have named their 15 man squads for the Cricket World Cup. Here are the details of the players who will line up on Friday:

Pakistan: Iftikhar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Babar Azam, Imam-Ul-Haq, Shadab Khan, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Rizwan, Agha Salman, Abdullah Shafique, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Wasim, Fakhar Zaman.

Netherlands: Colin Ackermann, Shariz Ahmad, Wesley Barresi, Bas de Leede, Aryan Dutt, Scott Edwards, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Ryan Klein, Teja Nidamanaru, Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh, Logan van Beek, Roelef van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Saqib Zulfiqar.