Other Sport

New Zealand vs Argentina Predictions: Rugby World Cup betting tips, news, lineups

By Jonathan Davies

Published: 11:02, 18 October 2023

New Zealand will be heavy favourites to progress to their fifth Rugby World Cup final when they face Argentina in the last four on Friday (8pm BST).

The All Blacks find themselves in extremely familiar territory. Indeed, this is the three-time winners’ ninth semi-final appearance in 10 editions of the tournament.

Meanwhile, the Pumas are gearing up for their third semi-final, having also appeared at this stage in 2007 and 2015.

New Zealand vs Argentina Betting Tips

  • Ardie Savea to score try at anytime @ 2/1 with BetMGM

One of New Zealand’s in-form players, Ardie Savea has scored three tries in his past two matches.

The number eight is now looking to register a try in three consecutive Tests for the first time, and will be confident having scored one in his past two Tests against Argentina.

New Zealand vs Argentina team news

Ian Foster makes two changes from the win over Ireland. Mark Tele’a replaces Leicester Fainga’anuku on the wing, while Sam Whitelock takes Brodie Retallick’s place in the second row.

New Zealand XV: Beauden Barrett, Will Jordan, Rieko Ioane, Jordie Barrett, Mark Tele’a, Richie Mo’unga, Aaron Smith; Ethan de Groot, Codie Taylor, Tyrel Lomax, Samuel Whitelock, Scott Barrett, Shannon Frizell, Sam Cane, Ardie Savea.

Replacements: Samisoni Taukei’aho, Tamaiti Williams, Fletcher Newell, Brodie Retallick, Dalton Papali’i, Finlay Christie, Damian McKenzie, Anton Lienert-Brown.

Meanwhile, Michael Cheika makes just a single alteration from the victory over Wales, as Gonzalo Bertranou replaces Tomas Cubelli at scrum-half.

Argentina XV: Juan Cruz Mallia, Emiliano Boffelli, Lucio Cinti, Santiago Chocobares, Mateo Carreras, Santiago Carreras, Gonzalo Bertranou; Thomas Gallo, Julian Montoya, Francisco Gomez Kodela, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Tomas Lavanini, Juan Martin Gonzalez, Marcos Kremer, Facundo Isa.

Replacements: Agustin Creevy, Joel Sclavi, Eduardo Bello, Matias Alemanno, Rodrigo Bruni, Lautaro Bazan Velez, Nicolas Sanchez, Matias Moroni.