Other Sport

India vs Pakistan Predictions: Cricket World Cup betting tips, news, lineup

By Andy Watson

Published: 0:03, 12 October 2023

An India vs Pakistan cricket match is always a big occasion, but this is going to be something special on Saturday at the Cricket World Cup (09:30 BST).

India bowled brilliantly, especially with spin, to tie Australia up in knots in their opening game. Whilst the openers were very ropey, India will be pleased that their big name middle order appear to be in great form, this was further emphasised against Afghanistan in their next match.

Pakistan also have two wins. One comfortable, against the Netherlands, the other one, record breaking, against Sri Lanka.

India vs Pakistan Betting Tips

One of the 100% records to remain

Both teams have won their first two matches of the tournament, though they have been somewhat differently achieved.

India won a low scorer against Australia and then easily chased down a slightly below par Afghanistan total. The Indian key players, especially in the batting line-up have shown up and got themselves in, whilst Jasprit Bumrah’s superb bowling performance against Afghanistan was key.

Pakistan produced records in chasing down a big score against Sri Lanka. They will not be able to afford to give India such a loose display with the ball though as the Indians will have no hesitation in piling the runs on, especially with the likes of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli looking strong.

The angle here is that through nine matches of the Cricket World Cup so far, all nine Player of the Match awards have been awarded to a batsman. Whilst it may seem counter-intuitive, spreading the picks across these batsmen may be a good angle in. Sharma and Kohli have a great chance of being the main run-maker in the Indian side, whilst if Pakistan are to create an upset, their best batsman will probably have to fire.


India vs Pakistan team news

Both sides have named their 15 man squads for the Cricket World Cup. Here are the details of the players who will line up on Saturday:

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim.