Other Sport

India vs New Zealand Predictions: Cricket World Cup betting tips, news, lineups

By Jonathan Davies

Published: 23:28, 19 October 2023

India go head to head with New Zealand in a blockbuster Cricket World Cup showdown on Sunday (9.30am BST).

A match worthy of a final is a battle of the top two between the host nation against the 2019 finalists.

Both have enjoyed perfect starts to the tournament – winning all four of their matches – but at least one of those unblemished records will go here.

India vs New Zealand Betting Tips

  • First innings 100 – Yes @ 6/5 with Betfair
  • Top home bowler – Jasprit Bumrah @ 11/4 with Paddy Power
  • Top away bowler – Mitchell Santner @ 7/2 with BoyleSports

We can expect a high-quality encounter at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium this weekend.

Rightly so, too. Indeed, three of the leading run scorers at this World Cup will be on display in Rohit Sharma (265), Virat Kohli (259) and Devon Conway (249).

The latter chalked up an impressive 152 not out against England, and it is more than likely the three of them will continue in that vein here.

Meanwhile, the two best wicket-takers at the tournament will be appearing in this game in Mitchell Santner (11) and Jasprit Bumrah (10).

You would expect those two to produce the goods again here, but which one of them has the edge will depend entirely upon the wicket.

But if in doubt, you have the option to back one from each team, so it would be unwise to bet against either of them.

India vs New Zealand team news

Two two nations’ squads are listed below. The Dutch will not want to change much from their wonderful win over South Africa, while the Sri Lankans are desperate to find the winning formula at the fourth attempt.

India: Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav.

New Zealand: Tom Latham, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson, Will Young.