Other Sport

Ballon d’Or live stream: How to watch live this evening

By Andrew Francis

Published: 13:15, 30 October 2023

The 2023 Ballon d’Or ceremony takes place on Monday evening, with the 67th edition of the competition recognising the footballing world in the 2022/23 season. 

30 men were nominated for the main Ballon d’Or award, whilst the Ballon d’Or Féminin, Kopa Trophy, Yashin Trophy, Socrates Award and Gerd Müller Trophy will also be presented, as well as the Club of the Year award.

How to watch the Ballon d’Or ceremony

The Ballon d’Or ceremony is available to watch on BBC iPlayer or TNT Sports on TV and via their desktop sites/web apps.

BetMGM sign-up offer: Get £40 in free bets when you bet £10

Not signed up to BetMGM yet? Here's how eligible readers* can take advantage of their welcome offer:

  1. Open an account at BetMGM using this link.
  2. Select the Sports Welcome Offer.
  3. Get the offer from the ‘My Offers’ page.
  4. Deposit and place a £10 bet at odds of 1/1 (2.0) or greater.
  5. When it settles, unlock £40 in Free Bets

New customers only. 7 days to place a qualifying bet to receive 4 x Free Bets. 7 day expiry. Exclusions apply. Stake not returned. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org

Ballon d’Or rankings confirmed

1. Lionel Messi
2. Erling Haaland
3. Kylian Mbappe
4. Kevin De Bruyne
5. Rodri
6. Vinicius Jr.
7. Julian Alvarez
8. Victor Osimhen
9. Bernardo Silva
10. Luka Modric
11. Mohamed Salah
12. Robert Lewandowski
13. Yassine Bounou
14. Ilkay Gündogan
15. Emiliano Martinez
16. Karim Benzema
17. Khvicha Kvaratskhelia
18. Jude Bellingham
19. Harry Kane
20. Lautaro Martinez
21. Antoine Griezmann
22. Kim Min-jae
23. André Onana
24. Bukayo Saka
25. Josko Gvardiol
26. Jamal Musiala
27. Nicolo Barella
28. Randal Kolo Muani
29. Martin Ødegaard
30. Ruben Dias

When is the Ballon d’Or ceremony?

The Ballon d’Or ceremony takes place at Théâtre du Châtelet, Paris on October 30, with the live stream of the ceremony starting at 7pm UK time.

Which other trophies are awarded?

Ballon d’Or Féminin

The most prestigious prize in women’s football is also awarded tonight. This is just the fifth edition of the award with Alecia Putellas, of Barcelona, winning the award in 2022. Aitana Bonmati, who also plays for Barcelona, is the favourite to win the award after leading Spain to the Women’s World Cup trophy earlier this year.

Kopa Trophy

The Kopa Trophy is awarded to the best performing player under the age of 21. Last year, Gavi of Barcelona, was the winner of the award last year, whilst Jude Bellingham of Real Madrid is expected to win the trophy this year.

Yashin Trophy

The Yashin Trophy is awarded to the best performing goalkeeper in world football. Thibaut Courtois was the 2022 winner of the award and Aston Villa’s Emiliano Martinez is expected to win the award this year, after his heroics for Argentina in the 2022 World Cup.

Gerd Müller Trophy

The Gerd Müller trophy is awarded in the best striker in world football, taking into account goals scored for both club and national sides.  Robert Lewandowski won the award in both 2021 and 2022 but this year the award looks set to be given to Erling Haaland, of Manchester City.

Socrates Award

The Socrates Award is given to a person within the world of football as as an acknowledgement of their humanitarian work. This year the award is expected to be presented to Vinicius Junior of Real Madrid, with the winger, with his work with the Vini Jr Institute, helping to brings education access to kids in tough atmospheres in Brazil being recognised.

Club of the Year Award

The Club of the Year Award is presented to the most impressive club of the season. Manchester City won the award in 2022 and are among the front runners to be given the award in 2023.