Other Sport

Australia vs Pakistan Predictions: Cricket World Cup betting tips, news, lineups

By Andy Watson

Published: 10:12, 17 October 2023

This is a big match in the group stage of the Cricket World Cup as Australia can draw level with Pakistan with a win on Friday (09:30 BST).

Australia finally got off the mark with a comfortable victory over Sri Lanka last time out.

Pakistan suffered their first defeat of the tournament last time with a chastening defeat against their biggest rivals in India.

Australia vs Pakistan Betting Tips

Australians to continue their recovery

Australia finally brought everything together against Sri Lanka, but they had Adam Zampa to thank for kickstarting them. The spinner’s spell to get out the key players of Kusal Mendis and Samarawickrama in quick succession broke the back of the Sri Lankan innings and set them on course for a poor total, having looked well set at 156-1 after 26 overs.

The Australians chased down the 210 that they ended up needing in quick time, and even though they wouldn’t have wanted to lose five wickets in doing so, it did allow Glenn Maxwell and Josh Inglis to show their ability and give them some time in the middle to find some form.

Maxwell could be a good choice for Player of the Match here at a decent price. He has just shown that he has the ability with the bat to play a key innings and he is still getting some decent overs with the ball to make a good all-round impression on the match.

Pakistan need to be careful not to let the Indian defeat derail their campaign. They have been too loose with the ball so far this tournament, and when their batting couldn’t set them up against India they were easily dismissed.


Australia vs Pakistan team news

Both sides have named their 15 man squads for the Cricket World Cup. Here are the details of the players who will line up on Saturday:

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim.