Football News

Wales vs Argentina Predictions: Rugby World Cup betting tips, news, lineups

By Jonathan Davies

Published: 16:13, 12 October 2023

Wales lock horns with Argentina in the first quarter-final of the 2023 Rugby World Cup on Saturday (4pm BST).

Stade de Marseille is the venue as the knockout stages of the tournament commence this weekend.

With Ireland or New Zealand awaiting the winner, both nations will be desperate to advance to a mouth-watering semi-final encounter.

Wales vs Argentina Betting Tips

Louis Rees-Zammit is the only player to have started all five of Wales’ matches at this World Cup, in which he has registered five tries and one assist.

The winger also leads the team for defenders beaten (14) and carry metres (325), as well as the joint-most line breaks with four alongside George North.

The bookies make Wales the favourites to progress to their fourth World Cup semi-final.

But they may have to work hard for it, with Argentina having opened the scoring in all four of their pool matches.

Wales vs Argentina team news

Warren Gatland makes six changes from Wales’ win over Georgia last time out. They include the returns of Dan Biggar from injury and captain Jac Morgan, with Taulupe Faletau will miss the remainder of the tournament through injury.

Wales XV: Liam Williams, Louis Rees-Zammit, George North, Nick Tompkins, Josh Adams, Dan Biggar, Gareth Davies; Gareth Thomas, Ryan Elias, Tomas Francis, Will Rowlands, Adam Beard, Jac Morgan, Tommy Reffell, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: Dewi Lake, Corey Domachowski, Dillon Lewis, Dafydd Jenkins, Christ Tshiunza, Tomos Williams, Sam Costelow, Rio Dyer.

Michael Cheika makes just two changes from Argentina’s win over Japan. Tomas Cubelli replaces Gonzalo Bertranou at scrum-half, while Facundo Isa comes in at number eight for the injured Pablo Matera.

Argentina XV: Juan Cruz Mallia, Emiliano Boffelli, Lucio Cinti, Santiago Chocobares, Mateo Carreras, Santiago Carreras, Tomas Cubelli; Thomas Gallo, Julian Montoya, Francisco Gomez Kodela, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Tomas Lavanini, Juan Martin Gonzalez, Marcos Kremer, Facundo Isa.

Replacements: Agustin Creevy, Joel Sclavi, Eduardo Bello, Matias Alemanno, Rodrigo Bruni, Lautaro Bazan Velez, Nicolas Sanchez, Matias Moroni.