Football Predictions

Monterrey vs Leon live stream: How to watch Liga MX online

By Harry Edwards

Monterrey vs Leon live stream: How to watch Liga MX online

Published: 13:32, 14 October 2021

Monterrey and Leon will be looking to keep their Liguilla aspirations going when they face off in Liga MX on Saturday at 11pm (UK time).

Hosts Monterrey, managed by former Atletico Madrid boss Javier Aguirre, are currently in the fourth and final automatic play-off spot with just four games left to play. They are four points clear of Leon down in eighth, but the visitors have a game in hand and will be using this matchup as a chance to close the gap and potentially avoid having to go through the ‘reclassification’ route.

Monterrey vs Leon live stream:

Saturday’s game is on Bet365’s live-stream schedule for readers with an account. Those without a bet365 account who are over 18 and Gamble Aware need only follow three simple steps to watch Team v Team online*:

  1. Visit their sign-up page (here’s a link)
  2. Set up and fund a new account
  3. Go to ‘In Play’ section, select the game you want to watch and click the play button symbol
*Please note that Ts&Cs and geo-restrictions apply, meaning readers in certain countries will be unable to live stream certain games for reasons to do with broadcasting rights. Users must have a funded account or placed a bet in the last 24 hours. All odds and offers within this article are accurate at the time of writing (13:30, 14/10/2021). 18+ only, BeGambleAware.

Where to watch Monterrey vs Leon on TV:

  • UK: N/A
  • US: ESPN+

18+ only • New customers only • Max Bet £5 • £10 deposit using promo code 888ODDS • Free bets are granted within 72 hours and expires after 7 days • Free bet stakes not included in returns • Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. withdrawal restrictions & full T&C’s apply • BeGambleAware

18+ | New UK Customers Only | If your account has Sportsbook losses at the end of your first day’s betting, QuinnBet will refund 50% of your losses as a Free Bet up to £25 (min 3 bets) Plus 50 Free Spins on Grand Spinn. Even if your account is up, you’re guaranteed a £5 Free Bet Plus 50 Free Spins provided you place at least 1 bet of £10 or greater at the minimum odds. T&Cs apply |

18+ only. New customer offer. Available to residents of UK or Republic of Ireland. Place a single pre-play £10 bet on any Football market October 14th – 20th – Get £50 (£30 on settlement + £20 the following day). Only deposits via cards will qualify (Apple Pay not valid on this offer). T&Cs apply. BeGambleAware.

Deposit £20, Get £20 cash refund on loses T&Cs apply

18+ only. New customers only. Deposit £20 using Debit Card or Trustly. Up to your first £20 of losses will be refunded as CASH within 24 hours of qualifying bet having been settled. T&Cs apply. BeGambleAware.

18+ only. New customers only. T&Cs apply.

Claim Here
Get up to £100 in bet credits T&Cs apply

18+ only. New customers only. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. BeGambleAware.

18+ only. T&Cs apply.

Claim Here
£20 in Free Bets when you place a £5 bet T&Cs apply

18+ only. New customers only. First single & e/w bet only. Odds of 1/1 or greater. 2 x £10 bet tokens. Free bet stakes not included in returns. Free bets exclude virtuals. Free bets are non withdrawable. No free bet expiry. Eligibility restrictions and further T&Cs apply.

18+ only. New customers only. T&Cs apply.

Claim Here

How Liga MX works as the Apertura nears its end

The 2021 Liga MX Apertura ends in just under one month’s time, well the league section of it at least.

Like most leagues in Latin America, the Liga MX is season is split into two tournaments: the Apertura, which runs from July to December, and the Clausura, which runs from January to May. The same 18 teams take part in both tournaments, playing each other once per league with two champions crowned per season.

After every team plays each other once, the top 12 teams continue into the next round, but there is a split. The top four go straight to the Liguilla quarter-finals, which will eventually determine the winner of the league (Apertura or Clausura). However, before that commences, there is the matter of the ‘Reclassification’ stage, with the teams finishing from fifth to 12th battling for a place alongside the top four in the quarter-finals.

The Reclassification matchups are determined by league finish, with fifth played 12th, sixth playing 11th and so on, in one-legged affairs in which the higher-ranked team are given home advantage. The four teams to go through are then re-seeded based on their positions in the table and squared up against the top four, with Seed 1 facing Seed 8 etc over two legs.

Quarter-final 1: Seed 1 v Seed 8
Quarter-final 2: Seed 3 v Seed 6
Quarter-final 3: Seed 2 v Seed 7
Quarter-final 4: Seed 4 v Seed 5

Semi-final 1: Winner of quarter-final 1 vs Winner of quarter-final 2
Semi-final 2: Winner of quarter-final 3 vs Winner of quarter-final 4

Final: Winner of semi-final 1 vs Winner of semi-final 2

Relegation from Liga MX is usually a lot more complicated, with the team to go down determined by computing the points-per-game ratio for each team across the past three seasons (six tournaments when splitting into Apertura and Clausura). The team with the lowest ratio at the end of the Clausura tournament (but before the Liguilla) is relegated. That means a team who finishes in the Liguilla qualification at the end of the Clausura tournament could be relegated, handing their play-off spot to the team below them.

However, relegation was stopped last season after the Ascenso MX folded and despite the Liga de Expansion MX coming in, clubs remain safe from the drop for now – though the bottom three are fined with money being used to the development of lower clubs.

More live stream options: