Football News

2022 Golden Boy shortlist revealed: Which young stars made the 40-player cut?

By Ben Green

The 2022 Golden Boy shortlist has been revealed

Published: 16:10, 16 September 2022

The shortlisted nominees for the 2022 Golden Boy have been revealed, ranging from Arsenal new boy Marquinhos, to established Bayern Munich superstar Jamal Musiala.

The Golden Boy is an annual award presented to the best player under the age of 21 in Europe, almost like a kid’s version of the Ballon d’Or. Past winners include Lionel Messi, Wayne Rooney, Cesc Fabregas, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland, among many other elite names.

The current accolade-holder is Pedri, who has also been nominated for this year’s version, having won 2021’s edition. The precocious Barcelona midfielder became the first player born after 2000 to scoop the much-coveted award.

Voted for by established publications in major footballing nations, the award’s inception dates back to 2003 when the inaugural silverware was handed to a young Rafael van der Vaart who, at the time, was plying his trade for Ajax.

This year’s winner will become the 20th recipient of the award, following in the footsteps of some of the game’s most-cherished superstars. And the 40-man shortlist has now been revealed, with some current heavyweights making the cut alongside a few lesser-known names…

Who made the 2022 Golden Boy shortlist?

Player Club
Jude Bellingham Borussia Dortmund
Eduardo Camavinga Real Madrid
Karim Adeyemi Red Bull Salzburg/Borussia Dortmund
Martin Baturina Dinamo Zagreb
Alejandro Balde Barcelona
Brian Brobbey RB Leipzig/Ajax
Matteo Cancellieri Verona/Lazio
Harvey Elliott Liverpool
Anthony Elanga Manchester United
Sebastiano Esposito Inter/Basel/Anderlecht
Fabio Carvalho Fulham/Liverpool
Fabio Silva Wolves/Anderlecht
Ansu Fati Barcelona
Gavi Barcelona
Wilfried Gnonto Zurich/Leeds
Ryan Gravenberch Ajax/Bayern Munich
Josko Gvardiol RB Leipzig
Henrique Araujo Benfica
Piero Hincapie Bayer Leverkusen
Rasmus Hojlund Sturm Graz/Atalanta
Ansgar Knauff Borussia Dortmund/Eintracht Frankfurt
Castello Lukeba Lyon
Marquinhos Arsenal
Fabio Miretti Juventus
Yunus Musah Valencia
Jamal Musiala Bayern Munich
Nico Gonzalez Barcelona/Valencia
Nuno Mendes PSG
Pedri Barcelona
Yeremi Pino Villarreal
Giovanni Reyna Borussia Dortmund
Giorgio Scalvini Atalanta
Benjamin Sesko Red Bull Salzburg
Jan Thielmann Koln
Destiny Udogie Udinese/Tottenham
Nicola Zalewski Roma
Mathys Tel Rennes/Bayern Munich
Kiliann Sildillia Freiburg
Xavi Simons PSG/PSV
Luka Sucic Red Bull Salzburg