Other Sport

Cricket World Cup: Dates, locations, teams and odds

By Andrew Francis

Published: 13:57, 2 October 2023

The Cricket World Cup is here again with the best One Day International sides meeting to determine who will become World Champions.

England were victorious last time out, with their incredible Super Over victory over New Zealand still living long in the memory, but which sides will be competing this time around and what should you know ahead of the biggest tournament in one day cricket?

When is the Cricket World Cup?

The 2023 edition of the Cricket World Cup kicks off on Thursday October 5, with England facing off against New Zealand in a rematch from the final four years ago.

The tournament takes place over the course of six weeks, with the final being held on November 19.

Where is the Cricket World Cup being held?

The Cricket World Cup in 2023 takes place in India, with 10 venues around the country hosting tournaments.

Stadium City Capacity
Narendra Modi Stadium Ahmedabad 132,000
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore 40,000
M. A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai 50,000
Arun Jaitley Stadium Delhi 41, 842
HPCA Stadium Dharamshala 23,000
Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Hyderabad 55,000
Eden Gardens Kolkata 66,000
BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium Lucknow 50,000
Wankhede Stadium Mumbai 32,000
Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium Pune 37,406


Which teams are competing in the Cricket World Cup?

10 teams from around the world are competing in the 2023 World Cup.

India qualified as the host nation, whilst Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa all qualified via the ICC Super League. The final two spots were determined in a qualifier event, which saw Netherlands and Sri Lanka claim victory.

How does the Cricket World Cup work?

The first stage of the tournament sees each team play the other nine once in a round robin. The top four teams will advance to the semi-final, with the winners of those ties meeting in the final on November 19.

The sides finishing first and fourth in the group stage will play each other in one semi-final, with the teams that finished second and third will square off in the other.

In the group stage, teams earn two points for a win and one for a tie or no-result.

Who are the favourites to win the Cricket World Cup?

Host nation, India, are the favourites to be crowned champions this time around but England, Australia and Pakistan all follow closely in the betting, whilst Netherlands are the rank outsiders.

Team Odds (bet365)
India 2/1
England 10/3
Australia 9/2
Pakistan 13/2
South Africa 9/1
New Zealand 10/1
Sri Lanka 25/1
Bangladesh 100/1
Afghanistan 125/1
Netherlands 750/1