Football News

Costa Rica beat New Zealand 1-0 to seal the final spot at the 2022 FIFA World Cup

By Muhammad Butt

Published: 21:30, 14 June 2022

Costa Rica have sealed the final spot at the 2022 World Cup after they beat New Zealand 1-0 in Qatar.

Los Ticos came into the game having won six of their last seven matches in qualification, getting themselves a play-off spot against New Zealand who dominated the OFC qualification period but who came into the game off the back of a loss and a draw.

Sky Bet welcome offer: How to get £30 in free bets

It's a good time to sign up to Sky Bet. Not only have they just upped the free bets on offer from £20 to £30, but the minimum stake is just 5pm. To put this another, qualifying readers* will earn £30 from just a 5p wager. You can follow THIS LINK to claim, or click the image below.

*New customers only. First single & E/W bet only. 5p minimum stake. 3x £10 bet tokens. Free bet stakes not included in returns. Free bets exclude virtuals. Free bets are non-withdrawable. No free bet expiry. Eligibility restrictions and further Ts&Cs apply. 18+ only.

New Zealand were already facing an uphill task but that got a bit too steep when a surging run down the left from Jewison Bennette ended with him curling a delightful low cross into the box.

Arriving late was the former Arsenal forward Joel Campbell. The 29 year-old currenlt playing at Monterrey in Mexico rolled back the years with a guided finish, slap-shooting the ball low into the bottom corner of the net.

That was in in terms of goals but just before half-time Chris Wood did score an equaliser for New Zealand only to see it ruled out for a foul earlier in the move from Matthew Garbett.

Costa Rica now head to their sixth World Cup since they first made their bow at Italia ’90. More impressively this now makes it three consecutive finals appearances for Los Ticos after they featured in both 2014 and 2018.

Of course their run to the 2014 quarter-finals under the management of Colombian coach Jorge Luis Pinto is the stuff of legend. Now they are heading back to the World Cup with another Colombian coach (Luis Fernando Suarez) they will dream of another deep run.

Costa Rica will be bringing with them some familiar faces besides Joel Campbell. There is captain Bryan Ruiz, once of Fulham, who sits on a massive 137 caps. Then there’s Celso Borges who has an even more ridiculous 145 caps.

Both men play back in Costa Rica for Alajuelense, but they do have two players still at the highest level of European football. Centre-back Oscar Duarte (66 caps) plays for Levante while three-time Champions League-winning goalkeeper Keylor Navas is still at PSG and kept a crucial clean sheet today as Costa Rica confirmed their place in Qatar.

The final list of all 32 teams that have qualified for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar is as follows:

  1. Qatar (hosts)
  2. Brazil
  3. Belgium
  4. France (holders)
  5. Argentina
  6. England
  7. Spain
  8. Portugal
  9. Mexico
  10. Netherlands
  11. Denmark
  12. Germany
  13. Uruguay
  14. Switzerland
  15. United States of America
  16. Croatia
  17. Senegal
  18. Iran
  19. Japan
  20. Morocco
  21. Serbia
  22. Poland
  23. South Korea
  24. Tunisia
  25. Cameroon
  26. Canada
  27. Ecuador
  28. Saudi Arabia
  29. Ghana
  30. Wales
  31. Australia
  32. Costa Rica



Sign up to the Best Football Offers

A valid email is required.

Invalid e-mail.

Yes I am over 18.
Yes, I would like to receive email updates on exciting offers from For more info on how we and our partners process your data, see Privacy and Cookie Policies.
You need to confirm that you are over 18 and that you want to receive updates.

*By subscribing you are confirming that you are over 18 years of age.

*All emails include an unsubscribe link, where you can opt out any time. *Please see our privacy and cookies policy..


Newsletter error