Other Sport

Cheltenham Gold Cup Tips, Latest Odds and Free Bet Offers

By Dean Smith

Published: 15:28, 17 March 2022

The Cheltenham Gold Cup tips are the most anticipated of the entire Festival, as this is the big one. It’s the blue riband feature of the whole National Hunt season. The Grade 1 Cheltenham Gold Cup brings the top chasers together on this long-distance test. With previous winners like Arkle, Golden Miller, Best Mate, Kauto Star and Denman, our guide to the 2022 Cheltenham Gold Cup tips looks at who could be the next one to write their name into the headlines.

888sport Gold Cup Offer: Get 50/1 on A Plus Tard

Click Here for 888sport’s 50/1 on A Plus Tard to win the Gold Cup offer

Deposit min £10 using promo code 888ODDS • Bet £1 on your selection at normal odds in the regular market • If your selection wins, we’ll pay you out at the normal price and any extra winnings from the advertised enhanced price will be paid to you in Free Bets • Free Bets are granted within 72 hours and expire after 7 days • Restrictions apply to withdrawals, payment methods and countries & Full T&C’s apply

Cheltenham Gold Cup Runners & Favourites Implied by Bookmaker Odds

Once again, there will be a star-studded field lining up for the Cheltenham Gold Cup betting. That includes the likes of former winners Minella Indo and Al Boum Photo taking their places against some other big contenders looking to land the prize for the first time.

A PLUS TARD has long been touted as a Cheltenham Gold Cup winner, and he rattled the crossbar in last season’s renewal. It was a runner-up spot that he had to settle for last year behind Minella Indo. But with a continuation of good form this season, including pushing Galvin hard in the Savills Chase in December, A Plus Tard could be right there again.

GALVIN, as mentioned earlier, keeps kicking on with his form, and he was a winner at last year’s Festival in the National Hunt Challenge Cup. He’s earned seven wins from 12 chases now, after scoring at Leopardstown in December over A Plus Tard. 

PROTEKTORAT is another that warrants plenty of respect in the Cheltenham Gold Cup tips for 2022. He has been lined up for this one, given his first test above 3m in Aintree’s Many Clouds (Grade 2) in December – Protektorat proved his stamina there and bolted up to win by 25l. 

Other big names among the early entries for the Cheltenham Gold Cup odds are last year’s winner MINELLA INDO, two-time winner AL BOUM PHOTO and CHANTRY HOUSE.

Paddy Power Cheltenham Festival Gold Cup Odds

Horse Jockey Trainer Odds
A Plus Tard Rachel Blackmore Henry de Bromhead 3/1
Galvin Davey Russell Gordon Elliott 10/3
Minella Indo Robbie Power Henry de Bromhead 9/2
Protektorat Harry Skelton Dan Skelton 15/2
Al Boum Photo P. Townend Willie Mullins 12/1
Tornado Flyer D.E Mullins Willie Mullins 12/1
Chantry House Nico de Boinville Nicky Henderson 16/1
Royale Pagaille tba Venetia Williams 16/1
Asterion Forlonge B.J. Cooper Willie Mullins 25/1
Santini Nick Schofield Polly Gundry 50/1
Aye Right Callum Bewley Graham & Rutherford 66/1


How Often Does a Favourite Horse Win The Cheltenham Gold Cup Race 

There have been three winning favourites in the last ten editions of this high-class contest. Those were Bobs Worth in 2013, Don Cossack in 2016 and most recently, Al Boum Photo in 2020. 

If you extend things back a little further, the favourite has won 9 of the last 20 Gold Cups.

So that is a reasonably high strike rate, and there has not been a winner above a 20/1 SP in any of the last 20 renewals. At that 20/1 mark, Lord Windermere has been the longest-priced winner in the previous 10 editions. The last British-bred winner of the Cheltenham Gold Cup was Sizing John in 2017.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Hurdle Favourites vs Winners in The Past 10 Years


Year Favourite Horse* Winning Horse
2021 Al Boum Photo (3rd) Minella Indo 9/1
2020 Al Boum Photo Al Boum Photo 100/30
2019 Presenting Percy (8th) Al Boum Photo 12/1
2018 Might Bite (2nd) Native River 5/1
2017 Djakadam (4th) Sizing John 7/1
2016 Don Cossack Don Cossack 9/4
2015 Silviniaco Conti (7th) Coneygree 7/1
2014 Bobs Worth (5th) Lord Windermere 20/1
2013 Bobs Worth Bobs Worth 11/4
2012 Long Run (3rd) Synchronised 8/1


*(-) = Finishing Position, UR = Unseated Rider, F = Faller, RO = Ran Out, PU = Pulled Up

888sport Gold Cup Offer: Bet £10, get £30 in bonuses plus a £10 free bet for the Gold Cup

Click Here for 888sport’s bet £10, get £30 in bonuses plus £10 free bet for the Gold Cup offer

Min deposit £/€/$10 • A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £/€/$10 • Min odds 1/2 (1.50) • Free Bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days • Free Bet stakes not included in returns • Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager the bonus amount 40 times within 14 days • Casino Bonus expires after 60 days • Withdrawal restrictions, payment methods, country & Full T&C’s apply.

Cheltenham Gold Cup History & Present Time

The famous Cheltenham Gold Cup had its first renewal over the jumps in 1924, but the race had been in existence before that as a flat contest. This Grade 1 chase is at a distance of 3m 2f, and there are 22 fences to jump. As a result, the Gold Cup boasts the biggest National Hunt non-handicap chase purse in British racing.

Runners who are at least five years old can take their place, but it’s usually only the more experienced chasers that take this one on. 

Among the former greats to have won it, there is five-timer Golden Miller, three-time winner Arkle and other legends like Desert Orchid and Best Mate, so the race boasts remarkable history.

Cheltenham Gold Cup Jockey & Trainer Records

The all-time leading Gold Cup jockey is Pat Taafe, who won four times during his career, with three of those successes coming on the back of Arkle. Getting a little more up to date for the 2022 Cheltenham Gold Cup tips, Paul Townend is the only active rider to have won the Gold Cup twice. His two successes came with Al Boum Photo in 2019 and 2020.

Three trainers have won the Cheltenham Gold Cup on more than one occasion in the last two decades. They are Nicky Henderson and Willie Mullins with two wins each, while Paul Nicholls tops the Gold Cup charts with three. In the previous eight editions of the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Willie Mullins is the only one of those leading trainers to get a win.

Get more Cheltenham betting offers here (18+ only):