Football News

Most take-ons completed: Bundesliga 2021/22 season

By Harry Edwards

Most take-ons completed: Bundesliga 2021/22 season

Published: 17:21, 9 August 2021

Although their players are idolised more for other skills, the Bundesliga still has a number of stars who can set games on fire by taking on their opposite man.

Last season’s king was Amine Harit who completed 90 take-ons across the campaign, but his wizardry on the ball wasn’t enough to keep Schalke in the Bundesliga, and he was relegated with them at the end of the season. The Moroccan international completed eight more take-ons than second-placed Matheus Cunha, whose start to the campaign will be delayed after his exploits with Brazil at the Olympics where he won gold.

Completing the top three is Jadon Sancho, but Bundesliga fans will not be seeing his ability on the ball this season, as the Englishman secured his dream move to Manchester United over the summer. Also gone from the Bundesliga is fourth-placed Leon Bailey (74 take-ons) but Alphonso Davies (63) is still with Bayern Munich and achieved his number despite playing just 1,769 minutes due to injury.

The Canadian had one more take-on completed than Ritsu Doan (who is back at parent club PSV in the Netherlands), who also sat one ahead of Leroy Sane and Daniel Calgiuri. Florian Wirtz was the only other player to hit 60 or more take-ons in the Bundesliga last season, finishing on the dot, with Moussa Diaby completing the top 10.

Four of last season’s top 10 are now out of the Bundesliga, including Harit, so who will take the crown over the next nine months? Keep track of the top 10 dribblers below as the 2021/22 campaign progresses.

Most take-ons completed Bundesliga 2020/21 season: Final table standings

Players with the same amount of take-ons are separated by minutes played. 

Position Player Take-ons Minutes Played
1st Amine Harit 90 completed 2,111
2nd Matheus Cunha 82 completed 2,151
3rd Jadon Sancho 77 completed 2,069
4th Leon Bailey 74 completed 2,147
5th Alphonso Davies 63 completed 1,769
6th Ritsu Doan 62 completed 2,783
7th Leroy Sané 61 completed 1,802
8th Daniel Caligiuri 61 completed 2,671
9th Florian Wirtz 60 completed 2,228
10th Moussa Diaby 57 completed 2,393