Football News

When are The Best FIFA Awards 2022? Date, start time and host city

By Ben Green

When are The Best FIFA Awards 2022? Date, start time and host city

Published: 17:30, 11 February 2023

Anticipation is building for The Best FIFA Awards later this month.

The yearly ceremony pays tribute to the sport’s finest individuals from the previous season, commemorating title winners, record breakers and the most aesthetically significant goals, the latter recognition of course referring to the Puskas Award.

The Best Men’s Player and Best Women’s Player are two of the most coveted and celebrated accolades at the event, and they will once again be honoured to see who succeeds 2021 winners Robert Lewandowski and Alexia Putellas (if they are, in fact, dethroned).

So, when is the ceremony taking place, who are the nominees and what other awards are being dished out this year? Squawka answers all of your questions below.

When will The Best FIFA Awards 2021 take place and where is the ceremony held?

Despite the ceremony typically taking place in the autumn months, 2022’s version will be held on Monday February 27, 2023.

This is because the main awards covers two different periods of time. For the men’s awards, the period covered is from 8 August 2021 to 18 December 2022, to include the delayed World Cup in Qatar. The women’s award covers 7 August 2021 to 31 July 2022, culminating with the end of the 2022 European Championships.

Last year’s event was virtually held at the FIFA headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, but this year it is back in person and set for Paris, France.

Have the nominees been announced?

Yes, is the answer. The voting process to determine 2022’s nominees began on January 12 and ended only recently, on February 3.

The award will take into account not only achievements in club football, including the Champions League, but also at international level, including the Women’s Euro 2022 and, of course, the 2022 men’s World Cup.

The current Best Men’s Player Robert Lewandowski will not be defending his crown, or securing a third-straight accolade, with Karim Benzema, Lionel Messi and Kylian Mbappe the final three.

On the Women’s side, Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas is looking to win back-to-back awards also becoming the first to claim more than one, fighting against Beth Mead and Alex Morgan.

Where can I watch The Best Fifa Awards 2022?

Last year, FIFA streamed The Best Awards across its social media channels including the official website, FIFA’s YouTube channel, FIFATV, as well as Facebook and Twitter. This year, it is expected to be the same, also with FIFA+.

Previous winners of The Best Men’s Player and Best Women’s Player

Formerly known as the FIFA World Player of the Year after its inception in 1991, the award was rebranded to The Best FIFA Player in 2016 and has hence been claimed six times since its rejig in the middle of last decade. Below are the previous winners of each award.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Year Player Club
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid/Portugal
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid/Portugal
2018 Luka Modric Real Madrid/Croatia
2019 Lionel Messi Barcelona/Argentina
2020 Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich/Poland
2020 Robert Lewandowski Bayern Munich/Poland


The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Year Player Club
2016 Carli Lloyd Houston Dash/USA
2017 Lieke Martens Rosengard/Barcelona/Netherlands
2018 Marta Orlando Pride/Brazil
2019 Megan Rapinoe Reign FC/USA
2020 Lucy Bronze Lyon/Manchester City/England
2021 Alexia Putellas Barcelona/Spain

The award list in full

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  • FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11
  • FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11
  • FIFA Fair Play Award
  • FIFA Puskás Award (awarded for the best goal of the year)
  • FIFA Fan Award