Football News

Ballon d’Or: Full list of 2019 winners as Messi secures record sixth prize

By Mohamed Moallim

Published: 21:01, 2 December 2019

Lionel Messi has claimed a record sixth Ballon d’Or crown, beating off stiff competition from Virgil van Dijk in the process.

The 32-year-old Barcelona forward ended a mini four-year drought since winning his last prize to become the award’s most decorated recipient.

Messi had been level on five titles apiece with Cristiano Ronaldo, who finished in third place this year. Both now share 11 of the last 12 accolades, but it’s the Argentine playmaker that moves one ahead.

This is Messi’s second major individual prize this year after he was named ‘The Best FIFA Men’s Player’ again beating Van Dijk for that honour. Having recently played his 700th game for Barça, the diminutive forward was again in the headlines last weekend, after scoring a late winner against Atletico Madrid.

As for Van Dijk, he came agonisingly close to becoming only the fourth defender to win the prize, and the first since Italian centre-back Fabio Cannavaro in 2006.

Nevertheless, it caps off an exceptional year for the Dutchman, who is now widely considered the best central defender in world football and he’s currently playing a key role in Liverpool’s quest to end a 30-year championship drought.

2019 Ballon d’Or top 10 in full

10. Riyad Mahrez (Man City/Algeria)
9. Bernardo Silva (Man City/Portugal)
8. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)
7. Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil)
6. Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain/France)
5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt)
4. Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal)
3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal)
2. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands)
1. Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

Elsewhere there was a win for Van Dijk’s centre-back pairing for the Dutch national team as Matthijs de Ligt became the second recipient of The Kopa Trophy, succeeding Kylian Mbappé, which is presented to the best performing player under the age of 21.

The 20-year-old Juventus defender, who captained Ajax to a semi-final berth in last season’s Champions League, pipped Borussia Dortmund and England winder Jadon Sancho to the honor whilst Joao Felix completed the podium.

Another of Van Dijk’s teammates was also celebrating as Liverpool and Brazil goalkeeper Alisson took home the Yashin Trophy which is presented to the best performing goalkeeper.

The Reds’ number one enjoyed a successful debut campaign at Anfield culminating in winning the Premier League Golden Glove having kept 21 clean sheets. Marc-André ter Stegen of Barcelona would finish behind him with Alisson’s compatriot and Man City goalkeeper Ederson in third.

In the night’s other major award USWNT forward Megan Rapinoe became the second ever Women’s Ballon d’Or winner after inaugural holder Lyon marksman Ada Hegerberg.

Rapinoe’s goals were crucial as the United States defended their FIFA Women’s World Cup title in the summer and her international teammate Alex Morgan came in third while England and Lyon full-back Lucy Bronze took second place.