Other Sport

Afghanistan vs Bangladesh Predictions: Cricket World Cup betting tips, news, lineup

By Andrew Francis

Published: 13:25, 4 October 2023

The Cricket World Cup continues on Saturday when Afghanistan and Bangladesh do battle (06:00 BST).

Two of the outsiders in the competition go head to head, with both hoping to pick an early win to build confidence ahead of some of their tougher matches.

The 2019 World Cup wasn’t a success for either side, with Bangladesh finishing eighth in the points table and Afghanistan dead last, collecting zero points.

Afghanistan vs Bangladesh Betting Tips

Bangladesh to pick up an early victory

With both sides not being well fancied coming into the tournament, a victory could be key in their hopes of making the knockout stages.

The two nations have met 15 times previous, under the ODI format, with Bangladesh wining nine of those contests including a 62 run victory in the 2019 World Cup.

The Tigers come into the match as favourites and they will look to lead from the front, with the likes of Tanzid Hasan Tamim and Towhid Hridoy likely to be the big hitters for Bangladesh.

Afghanistan have played in just two previous World Cups, winning a single game in that time, and that’s something that could well continue, as Bangladesh look to live up to their billing as one of the dark horses in the tournament.

Tip: Bangladesh to win @ 8/11 with Sky Bet

Further tips will be provided closer to the first match ball.

Afghanistan vs Bangladesh team news

Both sides have named their 15 man squads for the Cricket World Cup. Here are the details of the players who will line up on Saturday:

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Noor Ahmad, Ikram Alikhil, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Riaz Hassan, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Abdul Rahman, Rahmat Shah, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Towhid Hridoy, Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Shoriful Islam, Mahmudullah, Hasan Mahmud, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman